Guest post – Sam Lloyd

Summer Blog Tour

Welcome to Day 3 of the Templar Publishing Summer Blog Tour. Where you get to hear from a number of inspirational author/illustrators. Find out more about their creative ideas, what motivates them and hear about their latest work, from some of the best in the business.

unnamed-2We are incredibly proud to have award-winning Sam Lloyd as our special guest today.

Sam has created many books over the years. But many know her best for her renowned novelty books, including the Richard and Judy prize-winning Calm Down, Boris and Hello Dudley.

We’ll hand over to Sam to let her fill you in on her wonderful journey and the 10 years following her success.

unnamedWow! I can’t believe its been 10 years since I wrote “Calm Down Boris!” And what a totally amazing 10 years it’s been!

I know it may sound dramatic – but a scraggy little patch of orange fur really changed my life…

I was pretty skint, renting a pokey little flat with my boyfriend. Doing cleaning jobs to help pay the bills.

unnamed-1Bored one day, I started rummaging through my basket of fabrics, looking for some sort of inspiration. I found some interesting scraps and after a bit of cutting and stitching, Boris and several other monstery mates were born. They sat on my work desk over night.

When I visited them the next morning,there was a note stuck to my desk reading ”I LOVE THESE MADAM!” (my normally cruel tongued studio mate had said something nice about my artistic endeavours for a change).

51N8yZbd3QL._SY497_BO1,204,203,200_That was the confidence boost I needed! I packed them up, posted them off and the lovely team at Templar turned my crew of motley monsters into ‘real’ books.

Then to add to my amazement, Boris, the leader of the pack, won the Richard and Judy children’s book award. My book was on the telly — then I was on the telly — then Boris and I were appearing at Glastonbury and the Edinburgh Festival, sipping tea backstage with proper famous people and staying in nice hotels.

Sam-Lloyd-Pop-Up-Puppet-BooksThe books started selling and with that came royalty cheques. I wasn’t a cleaning lady anymore…I was a real writer!!

It’s been a GREAT 10 years we’ve had together Boris.

HAPPY 10TH BIRTHDAY OLD FRIEND!!

Leave a Reply

